Rurouni Kenshin musical, part 2

I don’t know if I managed to explain properly why I can’t really convince myself of Chigi as Kenshin (an unpopular opinion as I’ve seen so far):

I guess it would depend on the script?

I don’t know, I just think of Chigi as someone who plays cool and funny characters like Lupin and my idea of Kenshin might be different from everybody else’s.

My first thought was actually that she would be overacting as Kenshin (being too funny during the silly parts and being really dramatic during the serious parts).
I feel like Chigi might play the character in an entertaining but boring way to me, and not convince me she’s not just in a costume playing a part. Chigi could probably do any anime/manga character that has enough silliness for her to have fun with. I just don’t think I’ll be as attached to her Kenshin as I am with the anime/manga/live action.

I can’t think of a current sienne who would be perfect in the part actually, I’m looking for someone who has a voice similar to Suzukaze Mayo, but the image of Sato Takeru (he has the feminine quality that makes Kenshin at first glance not intimidating) and the subtlety of his portrayal.

But in the end, it depends on the script. How will Koike-sensei choose to write Kenshin for the zuka stage. Maybe it’ll be written to fit Chigi more, I just hope it’s not too unrecognizable

The live action I think did a great job overall, the casting, the production, the script. They made some slight character changes some of which I welcomed some I did not. I missed the iconic music, but I don’t expect it to used for the zuka stage.

So yeah, I’m skeptical because I have thought about a zuka adaptation of RuroKen for a long time, but in the short span so far of being a zuka fan, nobody has really struck me as someone who’d be perfect in the role. But I’ve also learned not to expect too much from adaptations, so I’ll just have to wait and see.

Leave a comment