J-dramas 2020

The jdrama seasons beginning spring this year are a bit off due to suspended production for a time, so some dramas delayed airing and/or got fewer episodes. Some dramas that got delayed are in their last episodes now, while some summer dramas are still being squeezed in to finish before autumn.  

So far, I’ve finished the following 2020 dramas:

  1. Shiro demo Kuro demo Nai Sekai de, Panda wa Warau
  2. Koi wa Tsuzuku yo Dokomademo
  3. BG Season 2
  4. Bishoku Tantei
  5. Watashi no Kaseifu Nagisa-san
  6. Miman Keisatsu

And I’m currently watching:

  1. Kiwadoi Futari
  2. Watashitachi wa Doukashiteru
  3. Rental Nan mo Shinai Hito
  4. Hanzawa Naoki season 2
  5. Suits season 2

As of this writing, all except Kiwadoi Futari are about to air their last episodes, but I’m only starting to watch the second seasons of Hanzawa Naoki and Suits. The newest one I picked up is Kiwadoi Futari which is around 3 episodes in.

As for dramas that have been announced and I’m looking forward to:

  1. Diver
  2. Gokushufudo
  3. Lupin no Musume season 2
  4. Tokyo Tarareba Musume SP
  5. 24 Japan
  6. Kiken na Venus
  7. 35-year-old Girl
  8. Kono Koi Atatamemasuka

Diver is a police drama with Fukushi Sota in the lead and Nomura Shuhei in the main cast. It just started airing but will have fewer episodes like several dramas affected by the suspended productions. I really enjoy police/detective dramas even law/medical ones where there’s a mystery or a case to be solved, which is one reason I started watching Kiwadoi Futari as well. For light dramas, looking forward the most to Gokushufudo and the special of Tokyo Tarareba Musume. I still haven’t seen the manga that the drama special is likely based on, but there are some clues in their Instagram account and it looks like it wasn’t such a happy ending last time. I’ve only seen this short promotional video for Gokushufudo before the drama was announced but the premise is so interesting and will no doubt be hilarious. Plus, there’s a mini Nodame Cantabile reunion with Tamaki Hiroshi and Takenaka Naoto in the main cast.

Lupin no Musume was a good comedy and is coming back for season 2, it was funny and light enough for me to watch till the end. Curious how this time they’ll deal with the situation now that they’re married. And finally, Kono Koi Atatamemasuka stars Mori Nana with Nakamura Tomoya as the leading man. I’ve been a fan of Nakamura Tomoya since around 2018 and have been watching his work as much as possible since then. This romantic comedy is in TBS’ Tuesday drama slot with female leads and recently they’ve been airing dramas where couples have a considerable age gap (examples include Watashi no Kaseifu Nagisa-san, Koi wa Tsuzuku yo Dokomademo, Hajimete Koi o Shita Hi ni Yomu Hanashi, and Chuugakusei Nikki).

For serious dramas, I’m most looking forward to Kiken na Venus which is in TBS’ Sunday theatre time slot, taking over from Hanzawa Naoki season 2. The biggest selling point to me is that it’s based on a Higashino Keigo novel because I’m a big fan of his work and their adaptations. I added 24 Japan to my list although I’ve never seen the original American series, but Karasawa Toshiaki is known for his work in action movies and dramas so I’m excited to see how this turns out. Meanwhile, 35-year-old Girl with Shibasaki Kou and Sakaguchi Kentarou will be by the same team that worked on Kaseifu no Mita, so I’m expecting something mysterious that will really hold my attention.

Now that productions have gone back mostly to normal, I hope the autumn dramas can get their full 10 or 11 episodes since some dramas were shortened to 5 to 8 episodes.

Leave a comment