Tokyo Tarareba Musume 2020

Back in March it was announced that Tokyo Tarareba Musume was coming back for a special episode three years after the drama aired. Originally scheduled to be broadcast in the summer, it’s following the suit of other dramas that stopped temporarily or delayed production due to the pandemic. It is now scheduled to air in October.

The special drama was announced with the return of leading ladies Yoshitaka Yuriko, Eikura Nana, and Oshima Yuko. Around a week ago, they confirmed that the main male characters played by Sakaguchi Kentaro, Suzuki Ryohei, Tanaka Kei, and Hiraoka Yuta are also returning.

Before the special drama airs and hopefully someone will pick up the English subs for it, I hope to finish my review of the 2017 drama series where I stopped at episode 5. I plan to combine 2 or 3 episodes for shorter reviews. I finished reading the manga a while back, although I relied on raws and only recently read the English version during a short stay at a manga hotel so my memory may not be reliable if/when I compare them.

According to the Wikipedia page, one of the spin-offs to the manga called Tokyo Tarareba Girls Returns is about the lives of our three heroines following the events of the main series. I would guess that this may be the basis for the special episode, though like the drama series, there may be differences in the TV adaptation from the manga story line/s.

Currently, I am watching a few Jdramas that have restarted airing or just started airing and will maybe write about those too in the near future.

Leave a comment